My Everest

Recently, my husband, the boys and I traveled to my in-laws house for a birthday dinner for my niece.  During the drive home, my husband and I had a wonderful conversation about our life and how it compares to that of our childless friends.

A few nights previous, one of my husband’s close friends, who happens to be childless, started talking about how he wants to do more with his life.  He feels like he needs to be accomplishing and experiencing life more.  For purposes of this story, we shall refer to this friend as Dan.

Dan works as a fire fighter.  Dan apparently has an array of talented coworkers. He was telling my husband tales of one coworker that is an amazing skier.  He works for 9 months of the year, and then spends 3 months in the winter skiing in Veil.   He stars in many videos about skiing and has managed to send every non-skier friend that has come to visit him, home with a broken bone.

There is another fire fighter, in his department, that is a professional cyclist.  He has a bike that he purchased for something like $30,000 and bikes to and from work every day.  In the evenings, he takes the scenic route home, that is 75 miles long.

I guess being around people such as the men above is making Dan feel inadequate.   He was asking my husband what he thought he could do to experience life more.  They talked about snow-showing, hiking, vacationing to exotic place, climbing mountains and many other things.  When Dan asked my husband if he would want to join him, he had to stop and try to explain to Dan what our life is like.

He said to Dan, “You have to understand, my boys are my Everest.”

There has never been a truer statement.  Since becoming parents, our experiences and accomplishments have been based upon what we can do and are doing to make their lives better.  Our success, as a whole, is so heavily weighted by the happiness of our children.  Their future is off in the distance, atop that great mountain.

On the day that we found out we were pregnant with B, we looked up that treacherous piece of rock, unsure what path we would take or if we would ever make it to the top.  But climb we did.

At the beginning, we took baby steps.  Our footing was unsure.  We didn’t trust our equipment to break our fall.  We weren’t used to the climate and the air, but we were trying.

As time has gone on, we have become more confident in our climbing skills.  On good days, we are able to navigate this mountain pretty well on our own.  On more difficult days, we are learning to rely upon the help from our village.  We have trail guides, Sherpas, medics and other climbers who help us on our journey.

Our climb has changed dramatically during the past year.  It is still changing every day and I imagine will continue to change on a daily basis for the rest of our lives.  The 2010 calendar year has proven to be the toughest leg of our journey since becoming parents, but I wouldn’t change it for the world.

I have days were I look down and just want to retreat to the bottom of the mountain and call it a day.  I never do though.  Instead, I look at my two little boy and find the strength to take another step.  They give me strength to be the best mother in the world; to find my way to the top of the mountain.

Getting an Asperger diagnosis for B was like getting a trail map.  Before the diagnosis, while we were very familiar with our son, there were just some things we didn’t understand about him.  With the diagnosis we are starting to learn.  We have a map, we have tools, we are slowly finding our way on this journey.  And it is an amazing journey.

I don’t need snow-shoeing or exotic vacations.  I can live without a fancy bike or skiing trips to Veil.  I get to live an amazing journey everyday.  I have my Everest.  It is a difficult climb to get where we are today, but boy is the view beautiful from where I stand.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. akbutler
    Dec 11, 2010 @ 13:42:19

    a completely beautiful post. I love the analogy. It fits perfectly. It’s also one that only those of us who have walked that trail could understand.
    so nice have to have you back blogging. Missed you!
    alysia

    Reply

  2. Stacy
    Dec 15, 2010 @ 10:37:02

    This is one of the most beautiful and touching things I have ever read….it brought an overwhelming amount of tears that I did not expect. It’s good to have you back.

    Reply

  3. Brandis
    Dec 17, 2010 @ 21:27:08

    Beautifully written. I’m so glad I read this. ❤

    Reply

  4. Jennifer
    Dec 19, 2010 @ 22:05:23

    Nothing to add but more love. Thank you for sharing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

